Here Are Your #SAMA24 Nominees and Date!

The 24th edition of the South African Music Awards is to be held on the 2nd June in Sun City. The first batch of nominees was released this week with the next rest of the major categories only set for release in the next month.

Nominees for Male Artist of the Year, Female Artist of the Year, Duo/Group of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Album of the Year will only be announced next month but for now, here are the nominations you should know about;

Best Dance Album
Pure Black Album – DJ Merlon
Ganyani’s House Grooves 10 – DJ Ganyani
King Zamar – Lady Zamar
I Am Music – Prince Kaybee
Familia – Mi Casa

Best Collaboration
Omunye – Distruction Boyz ft Benny Maverick & Dladla Mshunqisi
Spirit – Kwesta ft Wale
Inde – Heavy K ft Busi & Nokwazi
Akanamali – Sun_EL Musician ft Samthing Soweto
Ngempela – Sjava ft Howard & DJ Maphorisa

Music Video of the Year
Let It Flow – Shane Eagle
Naaa Meaan – Nadia Nakai
Spirit – Kwesta ft Wale
Don’t do it – Nasty C
Arumtumtum – Rouge

Remix of the Year
Faith Alive  – King Bayaa
I Got You – Mobi Dixon
Free  – Household Funk
Buy It Out  – Riky Rick feat. Youngsta CPT, KLY, Da Les, Frank Casino, J Molley & Stilo Magolide
Lake By The Ocean  – Mobi Dixon

Best African Artist Album 
This is Me – NINIOLA
Sounds from the Other Side – Wizkid
Yellow The Novel – Zoë Modiga
M&M – Moreira Chonguica and Manu Dibango
The Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience – Simphiwe Dana

Best Hip Hop Album
Stay Shining – Riky Rick
The New Era Sessions – Rouge
Yellow – Shane Eagle
Manando – Emtee
F2D Presents: Hall of Fame – Fresh 2 Def Productions

The competition is tight in most categories but Best Hip Hop Album and Best Collabo are particularly tough. Riky’s tape, Eagle’s 100% independent debut release and Rouge’s debut making the cut makes Best Hip Hop Album very exciting!

Rouge has worked hard on this album and her additional Video of the Year nod is testament to this. She could possibly crack the Best New Comer cut as well. Another candidate for Best Newcomer, Shane Eagle, also cracked two nods with a fully indie debut release, an extraordinary feat!

The nominees for Record of the Year, the only public vote category will be announced on Live AMP tomorrow evening and as per tradition, the awards show is to be broadcast live on SABC 1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AKA Partners With Vodacom, Kwesta Goes 7X Platinum & JR’s Feel Good Live Sessions Is Back!

All You Need To Know About The New #DataMustFall Regulations